Effective Jan. 1, 2024, Minnesota’s ESST law requires employers to provide paid leave to employees who work in the state.
Sick and safe time is paid leave that can be used for certain reasons, including when an employee is sick, to care for a sick family member or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking.
Employers must provide employees with one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked, up to at least 48 hours each year, unless the employer agrees to a higher amount.
Employers have other responsibilities under the ESST law, including providing the total number of ESST hours available for use and the total number of ESST hours used on employees’ earnings statements or paystubs at the end of each pay period.
Also, employers must provide employees with a notice by Jan. 1, 2024, or at the start of employment, whichever is later. The notice must be provided in English and in an employee’s primary language if that is not English.
Get more information: Utilize the following resources to understand how this change will impact your business.
Resources from the Department of Labor and Industry:
- Employee Notice
- Workplace Poster
- DLI's FAQ's on ESST
- DLI's Presentation on ESST
- Fact Sheet: English | Hmong | Spanish
Resources From Hospitality Minnesota:
- HM Earned Sick and Safe Time Memo
- Operating Now: Earned Sick and Safe Time (Recorded 9/14/2023)
- Earned Sick and Safe Time Presentation (Presented 9/14/2023)
- Operating Now: Paid Family Medical Leave and Earned Safe and Sick Time Call (Recorded 2/5/2023)