"ProStart is the epitome of what happens when education, mentorship, industry support and passion come together."
--MN ProStart Instructor

"ProStart trains young people for the jobs that in demand."

--Christie Larson

St. Michael-Albertville High School

"ProStart expands the horizons of my students with great opportunities."

--Marge Humbert
S.T.E.P. Anoka Hennepin

"ProStart builds a bridge to our community, connects students with industry leaders, and provides opportunities for scholarships."
--Laura Feyma
Forest Lake School

"ProStart teaches culinary skills as well as the business aspect of the foodservice industry."

--Gayle Durand
Hopkins High School

ProStart® is a nationwide, two-year high school program that unites the classroom and industry to develop the best and brightest talent into tomorrow’s restaurant and foodservice leaders.

The program is "chef training for high school students," as one Minnesota instructor put it. ProStart teaches not only culinary skills, but also the business aspects of the foodservice industry. The program connects students with industry leaders, provides opportunities for scholarships and perhaps most importantly, prepares young people for careers as restaurant owners, managers, chefs and positions.

ProStart® students enjoy hands-on work, on-the-job training through mentorships, interaction with guest presenters and field trips to area restaurants and foodservice suppliers. They have the opportunity to obtain a Certificate of Achievement at the end of the two-year program upon successful completion of testing and industry work experience.

Many schools send teams to compete in the Minnesota ProStart Invitational, held annually in March. The competition showcases culinary and management skills the students have learned in class. More than 5,500 students in the state participate in ProStart at 80 Minnesota high schools. The winning team from both culinary and hospitality management is eligible to participate in the national competition each May in Washington D.C.

Minnesota ProStart Schools

Aitkin High School

Alexandria High School

Austin High School

Bemidji High School

Bloomington Kennedy High School

Brainerd High School

Brooklyn Center High School

Buffalo High School

Burnsville High School

Cambridge-Isanti High School

Cass Lake High School

Central High School

Chaska High School

Columbia Heights High School

Como Park Senior High School

Crosby Ironton High School

Duluth Denfeld High Schools

Duluth East High School

Elk River High School

Fairmont High School

Foly High School

Forest Lake High School

Fridley High School

Harding High School

Hayfield High School

Hendricks High School

Henry Sibley High School

Hopkins High School

Humboldt High School

Indus School

Integrated Arts Academy, Chaska

Jefferson High School

Johnson Senior High School

Kenyou-Wanamingo High School

La Crescent High School

Lakeville North High School

Lakeville South High School

Lincoln High School - Lake City

Little Falls High School

Mankato East High School

Mankato West High School

Marshall High School

Milaca High School

Minneota High School

Monticello High School

Mounds View High School

New Ulm High School

North Branch High School

North Education Center Academy

Osseo Sr. High School

Owatonna High School

Park Center Sr. High School

Pequot Lakes High School

Perham High School

Pillager High School

Pine City High School

Pine Island High School

Pine River Backus High School

Robbinsdale High School

Princeton High School

Proctor High School

Red Wing High School

Richfield High School

Rochester Century High School

Rochester Mayo High School

Rocori High School

Rogers High School

Roosevelt High School

S.T.E.P. Anoka -Hennepin 

Sartell High School

Sauk Rapids-Rice High School

Shakopee High School

South St. Paul High School

St. Paul Central High School

Staples-Motley High School

Waconia High School

Waseca High School

Washington Technology Magnet

Willmar High School

Zimmerman High School

Minnesota ProStart 2019 Educator of Excellence
Matt Deutsch
Burnsville High School

Matt Deutsch has been a teacher at Burnsville High School for 16 years. He is passionate about helping students find success in career and technical education that leads to future work opportunities. He finds new ways to educate and inspire his students by taking them on industry site visits and field experiences such as tours, food shows, and college visits. He also helps students attain industry certifications and coordinates the school’s garden which donates 1,000 pounds of produce to the local food shelf, encouraging students to give back to their community and know how their food grows. Beyond the school program, Matt is very involved within the industry and takes special care to attend and promote events working as a guest speaker and working with others to promote ProStart and the school’s pathway model. He caters local events for real world experience for his students such as the Star Tribune newspaper’s annual cookie contest and helps at state sponsored events like HMEF’s Stars of the Future, and 2018 Taste of the NFL event during Super Bowl LII in Minneapolis.

Previous Honorees:
2018 - Marilyn Fagerness of North Branch Area High School
2017 - Katherine Hutchinson, Park Center Senior High, Brooklyn Park
2016 - Emily Wyse Moore, Integrated Arts Academy, Chaska
2015 - Monique Sabby, Elk River High School
2014 - Lois Lewis, Indus School, Birchdale
2013 - Christie Larson, St. Michael-Albertville High School
2012 - Marlys Eickmeier, Rocori High School, Cold Spring
2011 - Gayle Durand, Hopkins High School
2010 - Kathy Ellefson, Elk River High School
2009-  Marge Humbert, S.T.E.P. Anoka-Hennepin School District
2008 - Mary Levinski, Sauk Rapids-Rice High School
2007 - Marilyn School Meister, Edgerton High School

(651) 778-2400

1959 Sloan Place, Suite 120, St Paul, MN 55117

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter
  • Facebook

©2020 Hospitality Minnesota